About the Yearbook

The yearbook’s development

The Yearbook of Agricultural Engineering was launched as a continuation of the Annual Agricultural Engineering Reviews which were published by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Segler from 1956 to 1969.

The Yearbook of Agricultural Engineering was issued since 1988 by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans Jürgen Matthies and Dr. Friedhelm Meier. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans-Heinrich Harms succeeded Professor Matthies as director of the Institute of Agricultural Machinery Sciences of the TU Braunschweig in 1990 and in 2005 as editor of the yearbook. By this the yearbook stayed deeply rooted with the institute – by now the Institute of Agricultural Machinery and Fluid Power. Dr. Rainer Metzner succeeded Dr. Meier as co-editor in 2010.

In the meantime 23 printed volumes of the yearbook were published and have found a place in many bookshelves. In 2011 the Yearbook of Agricultural Engineering has to resume publication in this well-known appearance.

With the 24th volume of the yearbook in November 2012 Prof. Dr. Ludger Frerichs assumed the responsibility for publication and led the yearbook into a new era of online publishing and web availability. Prof. Frerichs is the successor of Prof. Harms at the Brunswick institute which is called now Institute of Mobile Machines and Commercial Vehicles (IMN).

Now the homepage enables the access to the latest volume of the yearbook and makes available the downloads of all issues (the former printed issues are scanned) in the archive. The IMN will continue the established Yearbook of Agricultural Engineering, which as online version now makes current developments in the sector of agricultural engineering easily and free accessible for everybody. In the current instance, the yearbook papers can only be monolingual – sorry for that. A peer review of the contributions is optional.